Ragnar Relay So Cal 2016

image

Another successful Ragnar Relay! This time I was on the Ragnaliens team! My van consisted of some pretty amazing people, me, my mom, my dad, my cousin Cameron, friends TC, and Melissa. We had such a fun team of people.

image

image

We started with Thursday night with a pasta dinner and van decorating at Ed’s house. It is always fun to get together before and decorate and get ready for Ragnar!

image

Our first leg started with Cameron at 5:45am in Huntington Beach. It was a nice morning and we were ready to start. As van 1 we were looking forward to getting our first set of legs done before the heat of the day.

image

I was runner three. After Cameron took of we went and dropped my mom (runner 2) off for her leg and then it was my turn. As the driver I had a little less time to get ready for my leg so I had to make due when I could. My first leg was 7.1 miles unsupported so I knew I needed nutrition and water with me.

image

As the sun rose, I knew it was time to start my leg. Thankfully I didn’t have to wear night gear for my run. It was a beautiful run! Most of it was along the Santa Ana river trail along many places that I grew up around and knew very well. I was able to pass quite a few slower runner and was feeling really good in my run. My pace was way faster than I expected. I guess all my speed training has really been helping. I finished my leg 25 minutes faster than I expected and handed off to my dad. I was so happy to be done with my longest leg.

image

After our van finished our first set of legs and passed to van 2 we were ready for food and some sleep. We went back to Cameron’s house after stopping at Jersey mikes and showered, ate, and slept a little before our next set of legs.

image

Van 2 ended up going a bit faster than expected and there was traffic on our way to the exchange so else were a little late in starting our legs. Once we finally got there and Cameron was off we were able to move to the next exchange. This leg was a long  a river trail in Oceanside. Last year this leg and the next were really dark and sketchy so my dad suggested my mom and I not run them alone. So we decided to run both together. We got ready and took off together for 7 miles instead of our assigned seperate 2.8 and 3.9.

image

image

This leg was at sunset so we had to wear night gear. Thankfully it was still light out so the path didn’t seem as sketchy. My mom and I had a great time running together. We were able to talk and just chill. It was another beautiful run. At the exchange point for my leg I ran a head and she slapped the bracelet on my hand so we could still “exchange.”

image

image

We were so excited to finally see the one mile to go sign and had to stop for a picture.At the end we slapped off to my dad and felt great that we had finished 7 more miles!  After all our van legs we were ready for some food and sleep before our next set of legs. We headed off to the next major exchange and settled in for a couple hours of sleep.
image

As van 2 was getting towards their last couple legs, Cameron’s foot was hurting pretty bad and he wasn’t sure he would be able to run his 8 miles. We started thinking and trying to figure out what to do. We decided that TC would run Cameron’s leg and possibly his own. Do Tc got ready and took off on the finally stretch of legs for van 1.

image

When my leg came it was around 3:30am. I was ready to get this leg done and ready to finish. I put on my night gear and headed down the hill to the start. At the start was a fire pit so we could keep warm waiting for my mom. I was so thankful for that fire. Of course because we walked down the hill, the first part of my leg was back up the hill. It was hard, but I knew it would be over soon. After the hill it was mostly flat through a neighborhood, and then along the beach in Encinitas and San Elijo state beach. It would have been a beautiful run if the sun was up. When I finally finished I was so excited to be done and hand off to my dad. When we got back to the car, we tried to figure out what was happening with the remaining legs. TC was feeling pretty done and decided he wasn’t going to be able to run his leg so Melissa was going to do it. This left Melissa’s leg so my mom and I decided to run it together. Another 3.8 miles.

image

This run was beautiful at sunrise. We took our time running intervals and even stopped at Vons to use the bathroom. It was actually a really enjoyable run and tour of the area. When we finished we were so excited to be done and realize that we were one leg away from running an ultra Ragnar!

image

We ran 5 Ragnar legs!! 5!!! So cool! Once melissa finished her leg we were off to get food and the finish line!!

image

image

As the driver for our van, this Ragnar was a little more challenging. It is really hard to drive for Ragnar! You have to maneuver a 15 passenger can through tiny parking lots with a 100s of other 15 passenger vans. It was fun but stressful and when you are running and not sleeping, this becomes even more difficult. Shout out to all the van drivers out there!

image

When we got to the finish there were not very many people there. We’re able to go lay out on the beach an nap while we waited for van 2 to finish.

image

We were so done and ready to be home at this point so we went to get our free beers and hangout until van 2 arrived. We were so ready for those beers.

image

Finally van 2 arrived and we went to wait for our runner! It was kind of cool!  the runner got to run through a tunnel to get to the finished so we went to the tunnel to wait.

image

Finally he arrived and we ran him in to finish!!!

image

image

We had such a great team and a fun time running Ragnar So Cal!! Can’t wait for the next one!

Leave a Reply

