Ashland and Picking Up Kiwi

For a long time I have wanted a hedgehog as a pet. I love hedgehogs! They are so cute! I finally committed to getting one and found a breeder in Oregon that had them available. For a few weeks I prepared for my new addition and researched more about owning a hedgehog. Finally the time came for me to drive to Ashland and pick her up.

IMG_2861

IMG_2864seen at a viewing point on the drive

I decided I would drive to Ashland Sunday afternoon and camp for the night before picking up my baby on Monday. Ashland is a beautiful area and I found an awesome campground in Mount Ashland. This campground is free and fist come first serve. It is also located on the Pacific Crest Trail. It was beautiful there and a little creepy. The campground is out in the middle of nowhere. I immediately wished I had taken a friend with me. It’s one of the places you imagine off of TV shows about serial killers. I decided to sleep in my car (thankfully it’s big enough). When I woke up in the morning it was beautiful!

IMG_2868

IMG_2873

I went to Ashland city to find some breakfast and a walk. I got some breakfast at a Café and then found a cemetery to walk through.

IMG_2889

IMG_2881

Finally it was time to pick up my little hedgie. I arrived at the pet store and talked with the owner. The Ashland Pet Store is so cute. The owner breeds a lot of the animals on her own including hedgehogs. She brought the Hedgies out so I could see them and pick the one I wanted. Walking in I already had my heart set on a girl but was trying to keep an open mind.

IMG_2899

her cage all ready for her to come home

She had 2 boys and a girl left. One of the boys was albino; the other boy was Pinto and refused to uncurl. The girl was pinto and so cute. She was shy but still curious. I immediately knew I still wanted the girl and thanked the Lord that she was out and curious. I bought her and headed back for my car to go home.

IMG_2895

in the box on the way home

I was worried about the car drive and how she would do. I prayed over her the whole drive home and prayed she wouldn’t get car sick. She is such a trooper. She made the drive great and settled in pretty quick in her new home.

IMG_2898

It has taken her some time to get used to me and the new surroundings but she has become comfortable here. She is so cute and I can’t wait to take her on all kinds of adventures!

IMG_2912

Leave a Reply

